National Parks & Refuges

2016 is the 100th anniversary of the National Park Service.  The National Park Service was created by an act signed by President Woodrow Wilson on August 25, 1916. Yellowstone National Park was established by an Act signed by President Ulysses S. Grant on March 1, 1872, as the nation's first national park.

There are 59 national parks.  The National Park Service manages 412 units which includes parks, monuments, seashores, reserves and memorials.

Denali is the highest mountain peak in North America, with an elevation of 20,310 feet (6,190 m) above sea level and at 18,000 ft (5,500 m), the base-to-peak rise is the largest of any mountain.

Lamar Valley

Yellowstone National Park

My Favorite place in the Continental United States!